Remembrance

The last few days have been one of the most difficult and unique journeys in my life. When my friend Lennie approached me to ask if I could help her family, I had some reservations. How does one go about doing a video about grief? How much will this affect my life? Will the friends and family think that I’m intruding into their personal space? …Yet this journey left an indelible mark on my heart.

First and foremost, I would like to thank Dan, Lennie & her family for allowing me to share the deepest, most sensitive and vulnerable moments of their lives. I would also like to thank David & KC for composing such a meaningful song years ago – the lyrics still speak comfort, hope and love … and has impacted so many even till today.

As emotional as it has been the last few days, there were moments of inspiration that I drew energy from to create this memorial. Till now, I am unable to fully describe the whole gamut of emotions I experienced as I went through the lowest valley, (literally) travelled into the depths of the sea, and come up into the glorious comfort of salvation.

Being with the family those few nights and capturing precious moments between loved ones and friends made me see how loved and cherished Elizabeth (Liza) was to all who personally knew her.

The demise of a beloved wife, mother & friend is one of life’s most stressful seasons. But when it is unexpected and sudden, we often wonder why God allows this to happen.

Elizabeth (Liza) has been a devoted wife, loving mother, doting grandmother and faithful friend all her life. She lived her days serving others; never holding back. She never forgot to love those around her even till the day she walked home to God on that fateful Thursday night.

It is, as we were told, that she passed on in her sleep and we somehow understand it is not by chance nor by accident. But rather by God’s design. Perhaps God loved Liza’s company so much that as she prayed and spent those quiet moments with Him, He decided it was best she stay with Him for eternity.

Happy moments flash across our minds… birthdays… weddings… anniversaries… these are events that are easy to remember and easy to film and produce as they are joyous occasions. It is easy when life is on the high. But the passing of someone so dear to us all comes at a high price – a realization that we will never see her again until the day of resurrection.

Throughout the production of this video of remembrance, my heart broke in ways I cannot describe as I spent hours editing all the footage. I know that Liza is in a much better place. A place without pain… a place where love abounds… a place where grace is abundant.

I know that the place she has gone to is a wonderful place, because Liza didn’t say good-bye… perhaps she never intended to say good-bye because she is right there waiting with open arms to receive us again when the time comes.

2 Responses to “Remembrance”

  1. Hey there, You’ve performed a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

Leave a Reply

